Priority Development Areas

The Connected Centres approach is all about delivering greater housing and transport choices. More houses and apartment blocks will be built in existing suburbs along the Te Papa Peninsula (from Greerton to the CBD), Otūmoetai/Matua and Mount Maunganui. New neighbourhoods will be created or expanded in the east (Wairakei, Te Tumu), west (Pyes Pa, Tauriko West) and north (Ōmokoroa). Achieving a balance between greenfield development and intensification is the best way to house our growing population.

Public transport, walkways and cycleways will connect existing and new urban centres so people can easily move around to work, learn and play. The six agreed Priority Development Areas (PDAs) were selected because they provide a focus on achieving pace and scale to unlock housing. These are all areas that require intervention. All of our other growth areas remain important and will continue to be progressed.

Our Priority Development Areas are:

  • Ōmokoroa

  • Tauriko West

  • Te Papa Including Tauranga City Centre

  • Wairākei-Te Tumu

  • Rangiuru Business Park

  • Te Kāinga

We're protecting our environment for future generations
We're making it safer and easier for people to use public transport to help reduce transport-related emissions in line with the Government's Emissions Reductions Plan.
We're keeping people and goods moving
We're keeping road and rail links predictable, reliable, and resilient in off-peak times to keep goods moving and our economy strong.
We're connecting people in different ways
We're making it safer and easier for people to get to schools, GP clinics, community, and shops in different ways, including walking, cycling, buses, and vehicles.
We're making it safer to travel around
We're improving travel safety and working towards an outcome where no one is seriously injured or killed in road crashes.